Sang d’Encre

I had such a visceral initial reaction to this editorial.  It seems trivial saying it now.  I recognize how easily excitable I am by fashion, but this is just…wow.  There’s something morbid and beautiful about it.  The title, “Sang d’Encre,” is equally poetic and morbid and quite apt as it translates to “Blood Ink.”  The make up of course is expertly done and the lines created are just breathtaking.  This editorial is visually stunning and rich in color contrast.  I love how striking every single color is against the white of Dree and the background.  There’s something fantastical about the smoky patterns of ink, and I can continue to stare at this editorial for days.  I would love to blow it up and hang it on my wall just so I can.

Dree Hemingway by Sølve Sundsbø for Numéro #113 May 2010

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

4 Responses to “Sang d’Encre”

  1. Thank you for posting this- I love, love, love Dree and I hadn’t seen these yet! They’re beautiful! <3

Trackbacks

Leave a comment