Rick Owens Spring 2011


Credit: Vogue.com

I normally don’t like Rick Owens (too futuristic for me), but this is the most refined that I have seen him.  He certainly favors the avante-garde that’s for sure; however, this is a more streamlined Rick Owens.  It’s positively lovely.  While there is certainly quirkiness to it, Rick Owens presents a surprisingly minimalist and elegant collection for spring.  I love how the wacky futuristic aspect that is characteristic of Owens comes out in the beauty and hair.  I love the long gigantic combs sticking out of every girl’s bun.

Rick Owens lives up to his talent.  He offers uniquely refined silhouettes in serene palettes.  They are dramatic, well-crafted (with mixed fabrics to boot), and well thought out.  The bodices are well-shaped with tucked in leather or gauzy silk.  He subtly emphasizes a woman’s silhouette with his dresses  that neatly nip at the waist in various ways that are uniquely Rick Owens.  I love what he chooses to work with too; it’s like crepe-chiffon and crepe-linen.  They seem so delightful to touch and easily conform to shape.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment