Band of Outsiders Spring 2012

Credit: Vogue.com

I liked this far more than I had expected to.  As much as I like Scott Sternberg, Band of Outsiders doesn’t normally register much on my radar during fashion week.  In this case, I absolutely loved the romantic yet tailored vision.  Sternberg’s vision is one of enchanting elegance with minor touches of edge every once and a while.  His designs are charmingly feminine which I did not expect considering Band of Outsiders normally deals in menswear.  There is a fluidity in spite of the structured tailoring that makes this wonderfully apt for summer.  There is also a sweetness in the simplicity of the pieces, allowing ease of movement as the piece breathes with the wearer.  And those dégradé toile du Jouy full apron skirts (see feature shot for example) are absolutely divine.  I love the ombre fading from blue to black as we reach the bottom as if they have been dirtied up a little.  Add in the boat hat, and I am sold.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

