Archive for May 26th, 2011

May 26, 2011

Nadia Serlidou by Koray Birand

Credit: Vogue.com

Nadia Serlidou by Koray Birand for Harper’s Bazaar Turkey June 2011

I was immediately drawn to this vibrantly striking editorial.  While siren red has always been a well-liked theme, I find this recent editorial brilliantly executed.  I don’t know if it is so much the color, but rather the effect I really enjoy.  The fluttery chiffon provides a beautifully fluid impression; coupled with the lace in the feature shot, the result is both artful and sensual.  It is a gorgeous close-up of the cover shot (which is fantastic with the full-body shot by the way).  This editorial has a couple typical glamour shots (complete with teased hair and winged eyeliner), but I think the wonderfully flowing shots make up for them.  Not to mention, some of those glamour shots (shot 9 for example) give a nice little nod to splendid forties style (and perhaps a little Jacki O as well).  Overall, a very eye-catching shoot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 26, 2011

Kate the Now

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

 Kate King by Benny Horne for Russh #40

At first, I almost passed this editorial over for being too plain.  But then, for some reason, I kept coming back to it in spite of its “plainness.”  Stevie Dance always crafts these seemingly ordinary concepts that end up intriguing me more than I would have originally thought.  She is really good at making the ordinary something more.   More impressively, she’s gotten me intrigued about a shoot that largely features an all-denim look (an aesthetic I certainly don’t advocate for).  In general, I like Kate King.  She is an interesting newcomer who had walked a fair amount of shows for Fashion Month Fall 2011 and just recently landed Dolce & Gabbana Campaign.  There’s also something pleasant about her personality in this.  She doesn’t try too hard to seem cool or make this editorial edgy and slick.  However, she does know when to simply turn it on, which is something most newcomers don’t intuitively get.  I particularly enjoyed shots 2 and 8 for the sentiment.  This is a lovely start to her career.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 26, 2011

A Place in the Sun

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Liu Wen by Hans Feurer for Vogue China June 2011

Wow it seems like Liu is in everything lately; she’s certainly taken this industry by storm (I’ve actually lost count of how many campaigns she’s landed and editorials she’s featured in).  Nonetheless, she looks lovely in this.  I like that while she’s not uberly pale (thank God for that), her hair is the only thing used to provide contrast in this shoot.  Normally people would use this as an opportunity to play with neon color-blocking for beauty (not that that isn’t fun…).  I like how natural she appears in this and that she emotes without any additional aid; it really reminds me of the excellent profile shot of her featured in the Asian Issue of V Magazine (#71).  Avant garde craziness has its place, but every once and a while, I like a little dose of natural beauty –something which Liu has in spades.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 26, 2011

Maria Melnik by Nikolay Biryukov

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Maria Melnik by Nikolay Biryukov for Elle Ukraine June 2011

This got me with the white Hervé Léger suit in shot 3; I love the angular cut-outs to the suit.  Just the lines to the suit in general are fabulous.  I also really like the stark black and white color palette with just a blue skyline providing a dose of color.  There’s something intense and earthy about it; the texture of the rock behind her is nice as well.  I tend to like summer shoots like this over the neon happy beach shoots that typically crop up at this time of year.  The posing is not spectacular or anything, but I think the suits and pieces tend to speak for themselves.  Also, the tan lines would be horrendous, by Hervé Léger by Max Azria is always a unique (and sexy!) option for summer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.