Girls on Top

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Liu Wen, Tao Okamoto, Shu Pei and Fei Fei Sun by Terry Tsiolis for V #71

While I am a little sad that Du Juan is not in this spread, this is still smoking hot.   I really really love the dramatic makeup.  The eyes are all fantastically done.  Moreover, I love the different feel that every shot has.  While the others are more pop-ish and perhaps occasionally a little sixties mod, the feature shot above feels a bit romantic seventies despite the baby doll lashes.  I love that these girls are part of a new brand of supers.  The concept of the super has changed a bit since the nineties.  While there is still the worry of a whitewashed fashion industry, I like the changes the industry has made.  For one, Asian models are a bit more prominent this season.  I feel that I see Liu Wen is everywhere.  Which is all well and lovely, but there are other great Asian models as well.  Tao Okamoto had a lovely little moment as well.  I think she single-handedly brought back the bowl cut when she debuted her new look on the runway.  Not to mention, I think Shu Pei is absolutely gorgeous.  She has a fantastically symmetrical face.  I kept going back to her during Fashion Month every single time.  Overall, I am very excited for this issue of V Magazine.  Asian feature + Gaga cover and inaugural Gaga article as well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

