Archive for May 18th, 2011

May 18, 2011

Lady Grey

Credit: ru_glamour

Stella Tennant, Imogen Morris Clarke by Tim Walker for Vogue Italia March 2010

Oh Tim Walker…your crazy  mind is brilliant.  I adore like everything about this editorial.  The avant garde theatricality of it all is superbly done–as always–and the Marie Antoinette type French Revolution fashion is very apparent.  I love all the references and how the historic styling fits in with the modern torn set.  The contrast between the highly elaborate decadent pieces and the wrecked torn-apart rooms is just lovely.  I think the addition of the ladders is a fantastic touch as well.  This is creative and just a tad wacky with elegant drama and ethereal dreaminess.  This editorial makes me feel full of whimsy with the intricately crafted ship hats and opulent full crowns.  The mix of dark shadows and airy light is also well balanced.  The models are like flitting fairies with artfully posed limbs and elegant wrists.  The lines are absolutely gorgeous.  There is just so much in this editorial to love.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 18, 2011

Saskia de Brauw by Ben Toms

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Saskia de Brauw by Ben Toms for Dazed & Confused June 2011

Hello there Dazed & Confused.  I always really enjoy its editorials.  And Saskia is quite lovely and dramatic in this deeply printed styling.  I love the darker color scheme as well.  I’m not normally a fan of prints; they feel a little too flamboyant for my tastes.  Not to mention prints are normally accompanied by a neon color scheme.  This is deeper without feeling muted.  The sense of fun from the prints is well retained.  Oh, and those Balenciaga spikes get me every time; I will forever be in love with those I think (at least I hope so!).  Saskia always a more androgynous look, giving the more feminine pieces a different feel.  While she does have a tendency to put her hand on her hip, I kind of really love the haphazard way in which she places her limbs.  It’s a little doll-like, perhaps adding more of a story to a rather ordinary concept.  I also like how the texture of the background works to complement the prints.  This is a great little piece that I highly enjoyed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 18, 2011

Girls on Top

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Liu Wen, Tao Okamoto, Shu Pei and Fei Fei Sun by Terry Tsiolis for V #71

While I am a little sad that Du Juan is not in this spread, this is still smoking hot.   I really really love the dramatic makeup.  The eyes are all fantastically done.  Moreover, I love the different feel that every shot has.  While the others are more pop-ish and perhaps occasionally a little sixties mod, the feature shot above feels a bit romantic seventies despite the baby doll lashes.  I love that these girls are part of a new brand of supers.  The concept of the super has changed a bit since the nineties.  While there is still the worry of a whitewashed fashion industry, I like the changes the industry has made.  For one, Asian models are a bit more prominent this season.  I feel that I see Liu Wen is everywhere.  Which is all well and lovely, but there are other great Asian models as well.  Tao Okamoto had a lovely little moment as well.  I think she single-handedly brought back the bowl cut when she debuted her new look on the runway.  Not to mention, I think Shu Pei is absolutely gorgeous.  She has a fantastically symmetrical face.  I kept going back to her during Fashion Month every single time.  Overall, I am very excited for this issue of V Magazine.  Asian feature + Gaga cover and inaugural Gaga article as well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.