Vera Wang Fall 2011

Credit: Vogue.com

Vera is like the queen of chiffon.  I love the pleating of her dresses for Fall.  The pleats add interest and sensuality to her romantic designs.  So while I wouldn’t exactly recommend going out in these lightweight dresses for fall, they would go wonderfully under a heavy winter jacket.  That type of whimsical romantic contrast seems to be the outfit statement for Fall 2011 (thanks for that Altuzarra).

Although I must say the deep smokey eye was a bit too much for me.  With the exception of Shu Pei Qin (who had a very nice gray), I feel that the beauty was a bit too heavy for how the delicate the dresses are.  Which is funny because I used to really love smokey eye (but usually when I was in a punk rock mood).  In any case, I like the idea that Vera’s trying to get at the with the contrast in heavy leather and smokey eye with the light chiffon.  Even if the execution of it didn’t quite sit well with me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

