Diane von Furstenberg Fall 2011

Credit: Vogue.com

Inspired some of the great American Legends (Millicent Rogers, Gloria Vanderbilt, Diana Vreeland, and Nancy Cunard in particular), Diane von Furstenberg paid some very bold homage these powerful style icons.  This doesn’t exactly suit my own aesthetic (prints are a bit too wild for me), but I love what she’s done with it.  This is collection displays excellent color blocking, vibrant accessories, and some surprisingly well organized prints.  Well I really shouldn’t be surprised I guess.  This is DvF after all; she’s the queen of prints and loudness without being over the top.  But really, the accessories totally sold it for me.  They are fabulous.  I love the effortless shoulder strap bags, glamorous bug-eyed oversized sunglasses, and intricately beaded tights (which matches so well with the gold-threaded shoes!).  And I will forever love her for doing a bright turquoise suede knee high boot.  DvF you are a goddess.  Your collection reflects that fact.  That’s all there is to it really.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

