Archive for January 14th, 2011

January 14, 2011

Alberta Ferretti Spring 2011 Campaign

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Sasha Pivovarova by Paolo Roversi for Alberta Ferretti Spring 2011 Campaign

Sasha Pivovarova looks stunning in this.  I totally paused and stared for a while when I saw this ad campaign.  Sasha is one of my favorite models, and she totally turns it on in this.  So fierce.  And while Alberta Ferretti has a very pretty feminine aesthetic, I can’t even fully focus on the clothes.  Frankly, I probably would have completely ignored this ad campaign if it weren’t for Sasha.  She is both ethereal and striking in front of Paolo’s lens.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

January 14, 2011

Thoughts on Sex

“Our best definition here is that sex is whatever the people engaging in it think it is.”

-Dossie Easton and Catherine Liszt

Amen to that.

January 14, 2011

Classics Re-presented

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Liu Wen in Chanel by Victor Demarchelier for Vogue China February 2011

Oh Chanel…Je t’adore.  While I don’t think her designs should ever be remastered (and I don’t like every shot), I do rather like this editorial.  Victor Demarchelier does a very decent job with this.  And he certainly has some big shoes to fill considering his father.  Really though, there’s something about Vogue China‘s studio shoots that I really like.  They are well canvased and intriguing to look at.  I particularly like the shadows cast in this studio shoot; they create really unusual silhouettes.  Not to mention, I will never tire of ladylike editorials.  Chanel’s designs are classic.  Liu Wen certainly does them justice; she comes across elegantly refined and charismatically cool.  And would you look at those cheekbones? Girl, those are stunning.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

January 14, 2011

Proenza Schouler Spring 2011 Campaign

Credit: Smile

Melissa Tammerijn and Julia Nobis by Willy Vanderperre for Proenza Schouler Spring 2011 Ad Campaign

First off, go Julia Nobis for landing two of my favorite designers books: this and Alexander Wang S/S 2011 Lookbook.  But while I absolutely raved over the clothes back in September and I still adore the looks now, that neon orange nail polish is what’s really catching my eye.  Perhaps it’s because Melissa and Julia are both so deathly pale, but the vibrancy of the clothes and beauty seems heightened.  I’m not normally a bit fan of brights, but the contrast is really striking.  The models almost appear carved out of stone.  That would normally really freak me out but somehow it works.  Lovely as always Jack + Laz.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

January 14, 2011

Suburban Secrets

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Kelsey Van Mook by Beau Grealy for A Perfect Guide Fall/Winter 10.11

I’ve always been a big fan of Parisian chic minimalist.  There’s a quiet elegance about it that I appreciate.  This sort of styling has structure,  yet there’s an effortlessness to it.  Certainly a deliberate aesthetic without trying too hard.  I find that I’ve been drawn this particular aesthetic lately.  It’s actually my go-to when I’m feeling lazy.  It makes me feel better to be comfortable yet well presented.  I am all for flair and quirkiness, but sometimes, simple is best.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

January 14, 2011

New York State of Mind

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Georgie Badiel by Laurie Bartley for Elle US September 2010

First off, this is some gorgeous gorgeous lighting.  And I absolutely adore the cityscape setting.  I’m rather partial to it for my own photography.  But really, there’s just something about this editorial I really like.  I had a very visceral reaction to it, and I’m finding it difficult now to articulate what about it that makes me like this so much.  I could comment on the fantastic melding of fifties sophistication and city grittiness, but that’s just one element to this.  All of it comes together so nicely that I’m rather struck by this editorial.  I’ll leave people to view this for themselves and draw his/her own conclusions because I honestly can’t fully express my feelings on this.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.