Archive for January 4th, 2011

January 4, 2011

Tom Ford Spring 2011

Ok I might take back what I said about Tom Ford’s first womenswear collection being a little too festive for my liking.  Which goes to show that there’s something about a live old school fashion show that one cannot sense from the quick shows today or the instantly published looks slideshow presented directly after.  And while I certainly benefit from technology, I like what Tom Ford has to say about it.  There is really no need for everyone to view the pictures instantly upon show closure; instant publication leads to a rather rushed presentation and review (myself included).  I am certainly all for a bit of anticipation and hype.  It keeps me from growing bored or becoming jaded about fashion shows.  And more importantly, the magic is retained with the waiting.

Credit: Smile

But truly, the clothes are gorgeously designed, well-tributed to the seventies, and overflowing with personality.  And although I’m posting the pictures up, I would strongly suggest watching the video instead.  The well-picked music (by the ever fantastic Karen Elson who happens to also walk in the show), charismatic models (why hello there Beyonce), and intimate setting truly highlight his clothes.  I love seeing what each model brings to the clothes and how Tom sets the tone for the entire production.  Moreover, this is all about the women.  More so than about the clothes for me.  It’s just an all encompassing feeling that I get from this production that I rarely get from any other presentation (as much as I adore several other designers).  Tom Ford certainly knows how to bring back a bit of glamour and wonder to the fashion shows.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

January 4, 2011

Efes’te Uyandilar

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Ranya Mordanova by Ahmet Polat for Vogue Turkey January 2011

Romantic minimalist is my first impression.  With a neutral palette, the styling is gorgeously loose while still retaining the core structure of minimalism.  What’s really nice about this is that Ranya displays an easiness that translates through the page; it all feels quite effortless.  Moreover, the ruins around her make for a fantastic setting, providing a great contrast to the sleekness of the clothes and giving a great sense of history to this editorial.  All the elements in this editorial come together to depict the quality of the design, which is a major component to minimalist styling in my opinion.  But what I really love is Rany’s unique looks.  Fashion has always liked the quirky and striking; Ranya fits favorably into that preference.  With her pale milky skin and inky elongated bowl cut, she paints a striking picture against the backdrop.  And the sunlight just loves her coloring.  She positively glows in it.  Though, the truly powerful shot amidst an already lovely series of shots is the one where she’s leaning against the shoulder of a male model (shot 6).  The contrast to skin and ink unusual and viscerally eye-catching.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

January 4, 2011

Victoria Beckham by Alasdair McLellan for Vogue UK February 2011 Cover

Victoria Beckham by Alasdair McLellan for Vogue UK February 2011 Cover

I am so picking up this issue.  Victoria Beckham looks gorgeously natural for for soft easy cover.  At this point, I would have to say that Vogue UK is my go-to publication of Vogue (with the occasional issues of Vogue Italia and Vogue Paris).

January 4, 2011

Renaissance

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Mariana Idzkowska by Justin Wu for L’Officiel Ukraine December 2010

Why hello Fall 2010 Haute Couture.  No wonder I was attracted to the highly unusual silhouettes and avant garde glamour.  I also love the whimsical romanticism of the looks and presentation; it’s a lovely look at couture.  While it’s not my favorite capture of couture (that goes to Tim Walker’s portrayal of Karlie Kloss back in October), the clothes really draw me in nonetheless. The Valentino wired dress in shot 6 is positively adorable.  Youthful and romantic, it preserves the Valentino aesthetic and glamour while interjecting the couture with a modern relevance.  Highly impressed by Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pier Paolo Piccioli.  So for me, it’s all about the clothes in the end.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.