A Girl of Singular Beauty

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

Natalia Vodianova by Paolo Roversi for Vogue Italia September 2004

2004 feels like a whole different world from today fashion-wise.  For one, this is film as opposed to digital.  But more distinctively, this editorial has an older feel to it.  It makes me feel like I’m looking through the old archives of a publication.  This could be from any era before the explosion of retouching and digital obsession.  Paola Roversi has always had a more romantic touch and it is heightened in this particular editorial.  He and Natalia have had a long standing history together in this industry; I like seeing the evolution to today.  And while it has only been 6 years, Natalia seems to young here.  There is an innocence about her that suits the nostalgia of the photography.  It is like if I were to look back on pictures at this age forty some years down the road.  And while I fully embrace technology, I, for one, wouldn’t mind returning to the whimsy and beauty of old film.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment