The Waiting Worlds

I’m really impressed so far by the editorials in Mirage magazine.  First the beachy summer editorial and now this hazy glamorous one.  I love the photography in this shoot; how the pixels aren’t terribly sharp.  Along with the sorta dusky lighting, they’re a good match.  While the model kinda has an inability to close her mouth (not a bad problem to have considering Coco Rocha has practically made her entire career out of that), the beauty is superb.

Darla Baker by Loic Peoch & Ludovic Andral for Mirage Spring 2010

Credit: Fashion Gone Rogue

5 Comments to “The Waiting Worlds”

  1. You’ve mentioned multiple times now that certain models have “an inability” to close their mouths, to which I really need to point out that in the shooting of these editorials, THOUSANDS of photos are taken. There are surely tons where Darla or Coco or whomever has their mouth closed, but it’s the photographers and the editors who chose which shots will make it to press. If they like the mouth open ones, those are the ones that we see. Coco can close her mouth just fine. Most models of Darla and Coco’s stature need little to no direction in shoots, but there is always some direction given (because unless you’re completely telepathic, there’s no way to EXACTLY what the photographer wants and good communication between photog and model is key to a great shoot), and one of the most common things I hear on my shoots regards what the photographer wants one to do with the mouth/jaw.
    I apologize for making my first comment on this blog a long-winded complaint, but this is something I hear over and over again and I’m very tired of it. The models can close their mouths just fine, they’ve just been asked to keep them open.

    • Point taken. I’m not complaining. Just pointing it out. Yes, the model gets given a lot of direction and apparently editors and photographers like the shots where the model’s mouth is open. I love Coco Rocha. She’s my favorite model but I can’t help but notice it in every shoot she does. It’s become quite a trademark for her.

      And I don’t particularly care if people complain on the blog. Posting anything in cyberspace is bound get some sort of reaction. In this case, you have a valid point and you’re not just sprouting angry gibberish at me. So complain away.

      • Okay, thanks. I’ve been a reader for a while, but a quiet one, and so I felt bad making my very first post a complaint! I think my issue was mostly just with the phrasing, but it’s something I’ve seen a lot of other blogs do. Oh well. That aside, I do love this blog because it keeps me up to date on so many editorials that I would otherwise miss with my limited magazine budget!
        (One complaint and one compliment–are we even? ;P)

      • No worries! I welcome any feedback (as long as it isn’t rude), especially if it furthers discussion. It’s nice to know that people are reading the blog. Although, I’d still post even if no one’s reading it. It’s still in progress as I’m messing around with formats. Cut links vs. slideshows and whatnot.

  2. Incredibly great post! Honest.

Leave a Reply

