Archive for March 10th, 2010

March 10, 2010

Fashion Week Fall 2010

And so it ends.  While the last day didn’t hold much interest to me collection wise, I have been thoroughly impressed by the pieces shown throughout this month.  And Paris is particularly my favorite this season.  I have never been as excited by fashion as I am now or as in awe of it.  Time flows and the world moves on, but this is an especially good fashion week for me.  I have a fond farewell to the craziness and flow of creativity.  More on all this later.

March 10, 2010

Elie Saab Fall 2010

A bit of a dark, somber collection Elie Saab.  Perhaps it is because it’s now the final day of Paris Fashion Week, a month long season of Fall shows.  In any case, this collection was entirely devoid of color.  The lace peaking through is a nice twist of sexiness and play on texture.  It adds interest to otherwise overly black pieces.  It is pretty and romantic, but I’m still a bit depressed by it.  There’s nothing to really excite me about this collection and with fashion week burnout, I need something to excite me.  However the craftsmanship is excellent and I still like Elie Saab.  It will always have a special place in my heart because it was the very first show I ever saw and loved.  The final dress shown here is ethereal and gorgeous.   A nice grey which is a change from the black of collection.

See Rest of Collection

March 10, 2010

Alexander McQueen Fall 2010

Oh Alexander McQueen…the world lost one of the greats.  Your work was always exquisite.  I feel sad even talking about it in past tense… You had a vision and alway stuck with it regardless of how far from mainstream it was or how outrageous the concept seemed.  Your clothes hold an intelligence and appreciation for history, yet move us forward. You left a lasting impression and final note on Twitter.  For some on immensely private, Twitter was the one outlet you had to the outside world.   Along with that brilliance, there is always a duality.  The highs were as wonderful as can be and the lows dragged you down into the depths.  Genius is often tinged with madness and perhaps you had a bit of both.  It took a mad genius to concoct some of the creations you did.  It is fitting that this showing would be very private and only the pictures be released.

I see a clear medieval influence with rich gold detail and trailing train behind some of the pieces.  The dipping sleeves also signify royalty and nobility.  I see a slight reprisal of the pieces from Spring 2010 in the shape and cut of some of the mini dresses.  It is all exquisite.  There is no other word for it.  The colors are rich and the theme is held.  I don’t know what else to say in the face of such tragedy.  I feel that had he been alive to plan the showing, it would all have a completely different feel to it.  While the clothes are majestic, the mood is somber in the light of circumstances.  It’s hard to review in retrospect.  As Robert Polet (President and CEO of the Gucci Group) puts it, “It showed Lee’s unique talent to create pieces of beauty that touch many of your senses, leaving one enriched.”

However, I must say that I absolutely utterly adore the shoes.  The thigh high boots in particular are a standout.  I just love the concept with the gold spikes and beading at the sole with volume at the top controlled by belting.  It’s one of the best twists on OTK boots I’ve seen yet.  And of course it would take McQueen to top what he did last season in the shoe department.  Mr. McQueen you were always ahead of the curve, even when you are no longer here to present it.   I will remember you fondly and hope that you have gone to a better place.  One where you find solace and happiness.  Just know that you were well beloved.

See the Collection in its Entirety

March 10, 2010

Valentino Fall 2010

Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pier Paolo Piccioli are clearly still exploring the fairy tale concept that they had done back in September for their spring collection.  However, it clearly worked better with the spring season.  While this collection is still a whole lot younger than Valentino typically is, I don’t feel any easiness about it.   I see  the return of Valentino red of the return of easy scalloped dresses and skirts.  However, this is a concept I have already seen.  Possibly this is fashion week burnout speaking, but there’s nothing to grab me like it did in September.  These are the few looks that I thought were interesting.  It just…idk left me a little cold.

See Rest of Collection

March 10, 2010

Chanel Fall 2010

This is precisely why Karl Lagerfeld is Kaiser.  Who else would import at 28 ft tall 265 ton glacial ICEBERG from Sweden for a show?  This season it apparently was all about eskimo chic, which is a really strange concept.  Of course I’m sure his audience LOVED it.  Lagerfeld truly knows his consumer.   Not to mention he must have loved being able to “walk on water.”  He clearly reigns supreme and is the true ruler of theatrics at fashion.  I loved the general iciness of the collection (with the exception of several what looks like yeti suits).   That white and ice blue sweater dress looks sooooo soft.  It’s almost messing with my eyes because I keep want to look at it.  It’s just such a good blend.

See Rest of Collectiong

March 10, 2010

Planet Earth

Liking the desert theme and camel tone to this editorial.  Spring, it appears, is a time for neutrals.  Don’t confuse neutral with boring or blending it.  Neutrals have a subtle appeal of their own.  While the tones may be more muted than jewel tones, there can be rich creams and melting toffees.  One can play with neutrals as with any other color group.  I love the slightly furrowed brow the model has throughout this shoot.  It’s great.   The styling of this shoot is also very well done; love the loose slightly messy hair.  This is making the ache for warmer weather even more pronounced.

See Rest of Shoot

March 10, 2010

The Waiting Worlds

I’m really impressed so far by the editorials in Mirage magazine.  First the beachy summer editorial and now this hazy glamorous one.  I love the photography in this shoot; how the pixels aren’t terribly sharp.  Along with the sorta dusky lighting, they’re a good match.  While the model kinda has an inability to close her mouth (not a bad problem to have considering Coco Rocha has practically made her entire career out of that), the beauty is superb.

See Rest of Shoot

March 10, 2010

Eclipsed: Nails of the Month

So I finally did my Ruffian inspired nails.  It makes sense that they were the originators of the half moon look and now they bring out the eclipsed moon look.  I was on the hunt for the perfect opaque gold polish for the longest time.  I was a bit sad to cover it up with navy but the two colors just complement each other so damn well.  So I’m not quite that sad.

See Process