Archive for March 8th, 2010

March 8, 2010

Stella McCartney Fall 2010

For the past couple of seasons, Stella McCartney has really come into her own.  Before her Fall 2009 showing, I never really liked her clothes.  Now I am all but raving about her collection.  She demonstrates a minimalist excellence.  Always.   There is a polish about her clothes lately that wasn’t there before.  She’s maturing and really finding her niche in design and upholds an aesthetic that is easily recognizable and distinguishable.   Those cashmere coats are to die for.  They seem perfect for cold weather, not to mention wearable with everything and luxuriously soft and warm.  I’m really into crew neck sweaters lately so of course I’m going to want the one Anja is modeling.  It looks so comfy and chic.  Want!  And those nude silk slip dresses?  Absolutely breathtaking.  They’re just…wow.  I’m almost speechless (and we all know how difficult that is)

See Rest of Collection

March 8, 2010

Givenchy Fall 2010

Givenchy has lost quite a bit of its theatrics.  However, Riccardo Tisci cannot be relegated to the slot of follower when he brings out a minimalist collection (well for him).  There is still plenty of high glamour and sex kitten.  This isn’t just some girl that has subdued chic and restrained style.  His girl is certainly front and center.  I don’t care how minimalist it feels for Givenchy, the Givenchy girl would never be subdued.  Just look at the 2nd model featured here.  Does that look like subdued to you?  She knows what she wants and she gets it, all while wearing Givenchy.  Seriously though, I could pull off that hair, I totally would in a heartbeat.

See Rest of Collection

March 8, 2010

Sonia Rykiel Fall 2010

When one thinks of Sonia Rykiel, one is always prepared to be wowed by some knitwear.  And indeed, I have!  Just adore the relaxed comfortable yet stylish vibe I get from this collection.  And the palette of grey, cream, and black is hardly boring.  Nathalie Rykiel does an excellent nod to some of the classic Sonia Rykiel pieces.  And despite the ridiculous gigantic yarn poof on the models’ heads, I love the ambiance of the entire thing.  Slouchy, fitted, girlish, menswear, I love all her styles of knit.  There’s the boxy jacket that’s just so in right now with the 90s influence coming through.  And girlish simplicity that is the mark of the 70s flower child.   Along with slouchy comfy knits that I want to be wearing right this instant. Ahhhhhh I want it all. Please? :)

See Rest of Collection

March 8, 2010

Celine Fall 2010

Hello Phoebe Philo!  Mrs. Philo you run a tight ship.  While I adored your Spring 2010 showing last September, this collection is almost a little too restrained for my tastes.  I am all for the minimalist trend currently going on, however I would love a big standout piece.  I guess I’m craving the glamour after all this restraint.  In any case, the craftsmanship is impeccable.  Just looking at pictures, I can see it.  LMVH is probably really happy that you consented to return to fashion and kick Celine into gear.  The deep leather pockets are awesome and go really well with the gold cuffs around the model’s wrists.  And I see that you’ve reprized your leather tops, which is most excellent.  Everything you touch seems to turn to gold and sell out.  That high waisted cream below the knee skirt is exquisite.  Just keep doing what you do best.

See Rest of Collection

March 8, 2010

Andrew Gn Fall 2010

Along side with Elie Saab, Andrew Gn was the other designer that made me fall in love with Fashion Week (or month as it were since there’s 4 respective fashion weeks).  I particularly love his long flowy evening gowns that fluttered about the model.  And he doesn’t disappoint me in those regards (have you seen that shimmery blue silk long sleeved gown? Ah-MAZING).  This time around, he’s a bit more gothic military.  The detailing in the jackets and the knee high boots are a big indicator.  The biggest standout of his for me are the jewelry cuffs.  Wowie!  Those caught my eye immediately.  The right accessories just pull an outfit together don’t they?  And they certain do that here.  That olive jacket with the embroidered detailing is also most excellent.

See Rest of Collection

March 8, 2010

Neil Barrett Fall 2010

The working woman is in mind with Neil Barrett.  With some warrior peep toe combat boots.  Awesome addition of edge.  I also like the bandage cuff half gloves as well.  I also like the band of gunmetal silver on the skirt of the last outfit featured here.  I can see the use of frayed linen, which makes this look a whole lot less uptight.

See Rest of Collection

March 8, 2010

Haider Ackermann Fall 2010

Going architectural at Haider Ackermann.  I love the points the come down in the jackets.  They’re so interesting and draw your eye in a good way.  The lines are excellent and the jackets are well crafted.  It’s a good tweak on what is normally a motorcycle cropped jacket.  I can see a modern Victorian influence in this.  Unusual, covered up, and beautiful.

See Rest of Collection

March 8, 2010

Yohji Yamamoto Fall 2010

Brrrrr….Reports are coming in that Yohji’s was freezing.  I know that we’re trying all trying to save money, but really?  Also I heard he sent home a model because she refused to show some nippage.  Ouch.  Hmmm flats on the runway….I’m so used to the line that wearing heels creates that I can’t really get into the idea.  Perhaps they don’t necessarily need to be 6 inches tall, but stilettos really do elongate the body. Flats cut the line off abruptly.  At any rate, Like the bellshaped trenches and his version of the men’s button up.  It’s like a dress now and more acceptable to wear without pants.

See Rest of Collection

March 8, 2010

Lanvin Fall 2010

Ladylike as always at Lanvin.  Alber Elbaz is always wonderful designer who understands the shape of women.  This time around, his lady is a bit more gothic and doll-like.  Karlie Kloss is excellent stomping down the runway with that death stare of hers.  The craftsmanship is wonderful and there is a fluidity to his clothing.  This one collection of black that I won’t grow tired of.

See Rest of Collection