Archive for March 3rd, 2010

March 3, 2010

Giles Fall 2010

[Awww. Isn’t it cute???]

Giles Deacon attempted to inject a bit of humor into his collection, and he succeeded.  He is also another designer that has a larger 50s influence.  It’s a bit kitschy and funny.  I like it.  Giles is also another first for me.  He’s a usually a little to quirky for my tastes.   But in this case, the quirk is right up my alley.  I love his poof bag with the eyes.  It’s so adorable.  I don’t think I’d ever use it.  I’d just have it to look at and remind myself that despite hitting 20, I am still a teenage girl. hahaha   Also, I applaud Mr. Deacon for his model selection.  He is promoting a healthier body image with Angela Lindvall, Karolina Kurkova, Coco Rocha, Jessica Stam, Carmen Kass etc.  They are seen as “curvy” models in the industry [the that editors actually believe that is laughable because those models are far from truly curvy; they simply aren’t anorexic and frighteningly waif-like].  And also it totally suits the 50s silhouette.

See Rest of Collection

March 3, 2010

Dries van Noten Fall 2010

And we’ve hit the final stretch.  So.  This is the first time I’ve ever liked a Dries van Noten show.  This season appears to be a season of first for me.  Although Dries van Noten said that he was in the mood for fun, his collection has a funny way of demonstrating that.  The mood nor the design held a lightheartedness that fun is usually associated with.  Unless he has a different definition of fun from mine.   However, I really like the overarching 50s influence with the nipped waists and belled out skirts.  Although they are simple, the pumps really caught my eye.  I don’t exactly know why but my eyes are drawn to well made classics and this collection certain is.

See Rest of Collection

March 3, 2010

Going Platinum

This is the most unusual regular editorial I’ve ever seen.  And I mean this in the best possible way.  For a shoot that has no story, and no scenery behind it, this is the most intriguing shoot.  Alyona manages to makes things interesting and a little weird as you look through all the shots.   One moment she’s like a marionette doll with strings slackened; in another, she’s like one of those zombies from Michael Jackson’s thriller MV.  It’s hard to switch things up like that without seeming contrived.  I think she just had fun with it and contorted her body into bizarre shapes, yet she still has that line and ability to find the light.

read more »

March 3, 2010

This Too Shall Pass

This is so awesome.  OK Go deserves to be in hall of fame for music videos.  So freaking amazing.  Watch it!

March 3, 2010

The Everyman

This is a bit ironically called “The Everyman,” seeing as I highly doubt the everyman has pieces from this editorial in his closet (Raf Simmons, Alexander McQueen anyone?).  And if there is a guy who does happen to have this type closet, call me! ;)  At any rate, Matteo Martari brings out his furrowed brow (I think it’s going to become his trademark) and intensity once again.  He wears the clothes beautifully, and the set and styling does not overwhelm him.  He intrigues me in the shoot.  Since there are many close ups, he has to change up his facial expressions as to not be relegated to a “clothes horse” which some people thinking modeling is.

See Rest of Shoot