Archive for March 2nd, 2010

March 2, 2010

Matteo Martari

I think I have a crush. hahahah Does anyone really blame me?  He’s so cute.  His casting shots show a personality beyond the excellent model he is.  Gah are they trying to kill me?  I have a thing for guys in glasses.  Especially when they take them off. I don’t know.  It’s a weird attraction but it’s soooo hot.   Well.  I see that this post as deteriorated into attracted babbling.  Best to stop now.

March 2, 2010

Kim Fabian von Dall’Armi by Paul J Hay

God. You’re beautiful.  Those eyes and that touseled blond hair. *sigh*  Ok I’m done melting.  He is so good at closeups.  I haven’t seen him in other editorials, but this is a really good photo session.  He should be happy to add it to his book.   In any case, his profile is beautiful. Ugh. hahaha

See Rest of Shoot

March 2, 2010

Work in Progress

The color saturation and lighting of this shoot is fantastic!  I must admit that I know absolutely nothing about the menswear world (other than some love for Mathias Lauridsen or Garrett Neff); I’m slowly breaking into it.  Anyway, the facial expressions are intriguing, certainly not typical.  The models, especially Matteo Martari, has a casual coolness about them.  It’s intense with an innate comfortability in his own skin.  With an upward tilt of his chin and furrowed brow, he has a quiet confidence and charismatic presence.  No offense to Nicolas Ripoll but Matteo Martari out-models him.

See Rest of Shoot

March 2, 2010

Prairie Haute Companion

I love the styling of this shoot.  I tend to hate prairie-themed anything or Wild West influences on fashion but this one is most excellent.  Everything just comes together, the scenery, the clothes, the poses, Jacquelyn herself…The backlight to the last shot is beautiful.  Photography-wise, it’s one of my favorites.

See Rest of Shoot

March 2, 2010

Versus Fall 2010

Christopher Kane and Donatella Versace have created an excellent collection in their revival of Versus.  It’s flirty, adorable, and young.  Which is exactly their target audience.  The use of velvet with chiffon makes for an interesting combination; by playing with texture, they have reinvented what is essentially the ballerina silhouette.  I love the leather jackets and lace up combats as well as the elbow length leather gloves.  The collection may be flirty and cute, but it has sophistication which is missing from most collections geared towards the pretty young things.  This is sexy without any hint of desperation.  Great colors, fantastic fit and silhouettes, well-crafted and that’s all there is to it.

See Rest of Collection