Archive for February 26th, 2010

February 26, 2010

Fendi Fall 2010

This is very casual for Karl Lagerfeld.  I love the effortless chic displayed here.  The rubber toe boots calf booties are adorable.  I like the emphasis on the waist with with belted looseness.  The hair is totally awesome. It’s like experimenting with short hair by twisting it up in the front like a girl version of Danny Zuko’s hair in Grease.

Credit: style.com

February 26, 2010

Haute Tension

An excellent architectural editorial.  Magdalena’s poses fit right into the scenery.  They are strong as they are beautiful.  Love the exaggerated cat eye and the 60s makeup influence.

read more »

February 26, 2010

Off the Rails

Good morning!  I’m still a little bleary from early morning registration so forgive me.  Off the Rails is a good way of putting things as in magazines for runway recap shoots, models are able to breathe more life into the outfits.  Runway shows are theatrical and fun but the models have become emotionless and practically lifeless on the catwalk.  With stoic faces and that oh so distinctive walk, it’s just so….depressing.  Clothes have a personality of their own.  The model should bring that out.  I really like how each shot has a different feeling to it to suit the designer in question.  I must say though, I really like that Calvin Klein tee.  Very tempted to add that to my closet.

See Rest of Shoot

February 26, 2010

Danze

I must say so far, this is absolutely by far my favorite editorial.  Ever.  And that’s saying a lot.  There are a ton of fantastic editorials out there.  But I must say that I have a large bias for dance related/themed editorials and dancers who are models.  Something about the way they know their bodies and the line they can create is just amazing.  While I don’t know if Masha is a dancer herself, she creates this beautiful extended line and assumes strong yet elegant poses.  It is a marvel to behold.  (I don’t think that she’s an actual dancer; if she was, her toes would be a whole lot more pointed in the shots where we can her feet).  The photography is excellent, the saturation of color is beautiful and slightly faded.  The background, the styling, the photography, and the model just all comes together.  Simply exquisite.

See Rest of Shoot

February 26, 2010

Cabin Fever

Damnnnnnnnnn girl.  You so do NOT look 36.  In a steamy new editorial for V#64, supermodel Carolyn Murphy stars in a very hot ménage à trois with Jakob Hedberg and Martin Landgreve, enticing them in teasing lingerie.  So beautiful.  The photography is excellent and I like the mix of black and white with the color.   I love the passion that just leaps from the page.  And we obviously know who’s boss :P  Cabin fever indeed.  I wouldn’t mind catching a bit of that myself ;-)

See Rest of Shoot