Christian Dior Spring 2011

Credit: Vogue.com

J’adore Dior.  I am very much a Dior girl; however, I rarely like John Galliano’s spring collections.  They are usually too whimsical and theatrical for my tastes.  Spring 2011 is much of the same.  While the setting and lighting makes for cool effects for photography, this collection doesn’t feel very Dior to me.  I associate Dior with high glamour and the New Look of the 1950s with well structured shapes and beautiful lady-like feel.  This is John Galliano having fun with his collection.  Now, I don’t mind fashion being fun, but with the exception of some shoes and bags, I didn’t care for this collection.  It simply does not suit my aesthetic.  After a phenomenal Fall 2010 collection, this is coming out of left field for me.  While there is nothing wrong with the quality of what Galliano presents, it is very playful and glitzy for Dior.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

