Archive for February 18th, 2010

February 18, 2010

Marchesa Fall 2010

[They're so pretty I just couldn't post one as the preview]

Every season, I breathlessly await what Georgina Chapman will dream up next.  My anticipation is fueled by the season before and her beautiful creations.  The craftsmanship is exquisite and each creation unique.  It is like a beautifully created and decorated cake by a master. Her style is very distinctive and her dresses like pieces of art that belong in an art museum.  And with the Oscars coming up, I can’t wait to see actresses where her creations.  Notice that I keep calling them “creations” because that is exactly what they are.  They go far beyond simply dresses.

See Rest of Collection

February 18, 2010

Michael Kors Fall 2010

He’s just simply such a great All-American designer.  This time he brings us high end luxury with fur accents.  I love the classic menswear he has going on and the feminine winter gear as well.  One thing that’s ridiculous but I love about fashion week is that designers will create these looks for fall/winter that have winter themes and winter aspects with warm material and cozy knits, but they actually don’t keep anyone warm.  Nor are they usual for winter.  However, I greatly appreciate the aesthetic.  This fall seems to be all about the cheek bones and strong brow.  Other than that, there are no dramatically made up faces on any runway this season.  In the end, Michael Kors has had a fantastic show, one I will remember.

See Rest of Collection

February 18, 2010

Nanette Lepore Fall 2010

I must admit that I truly didn’t notice Nanette Lepore until I saw her featured on Gossip Girl.  That aside, her fall collection is truly romantic.  Not in the sweeping girly designs (which they aren’t) but in the color selection.  Dusty rich deep colors like wine burgundy, dusty grey, deep copper.  These are the colors of fall.  Ones that associate well with richly colorful leaves falling around us.  And while this is showing in February, she is displaying a true fall collection.  I love how it goes from dark romantics to stylish party girl to autumn collegian.  This is a collection to be savored.

See Rest of Collection

February 18, 2010

Narciso Rodriguez Fall 2010

Liquid metal comes to mind.  The smooth satin and shininess of the material creates a seamless image of free-flowing precious metals.  I like the shaping of the dresses, much like how a welder would hammer out gold and copper to take on the shape at the will of the creator.  The red dress in particular makes me think of heat and fire, creating a striking standout for the fall/winter collections.  Ever since Michelle Obama wore his dress on Inauguration night, he has been thrust into the spotlight more than ever.  I sincerely think that he has stood up to that hype and created something beautiful.  His collection is that of a powerful beauty.  To be handled well or lest be consumed by its power.

See Rest of Collection

February 18, 2010

Threeasfour Fall 2010

And warrior chic continues and reigns at Threeasfour.  This time with a charming McQueen tribute with the facial netting, hair and makeup.  What a strange and twisted world the designers live in.  I’m happy just to be visiting and catching a glimpse of what goes on in there.  I love the use of fabric and how it twists and coils in unusual patterns as it snakes its way around the body.  There is almost a medusa quality about it (not in ugliness) but in the strong image of snakes I get.  Especially the hair and how strands will also snake its away around a model’s face.  Sick and twisted.  Sick and twisted.  In the best possible way of course.

See Rest of Collection

February 18, 2010

Bloggage

Sorry sorry sorry I just realized that I haven’t checked my approval for comments as well as monitor the spam bin very well.  It just told me that there was 49 spam comments blocked.  I just went in and saw 10 more but about 6 of them weren’t spam.  So if you have commented in the past and it never showed up, I’m very sorry.  Please don’t think that I don’t care or wouldn’t like to hear your feedback.  In fact, comment all you like!  I welcome all feedback, good and bad as long as you respect the bloggosphere by giving constructive criticism.  I will not accept any rude comments about me, anyone else, the industry, etc.  If you don’t like fashion, then don’t read this blog.

February 18, 2010

The Row Fall 2010

There is a reason why this line is essentially invulnerable in a recession.  Not only that but it is flourishing.  Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen have proven that they are quite serious about fashion and cannot not even be associated with celebrity designers.  Ashley’s relentless drive for perfection and Mary-Kate’s refusal to be anyone but herself, has created quite a remarkable and dynamic duo in fashion.  It is said that the naughties had belonged to them; the world is always watching for what they’d wear next.  With their Starbucks cup in hand and piled on Boho layers, they created a trend that they weren’t even aware of.  It is quite impressive that they managed to escape their teenage years without succumbing to any trend or dressing sexier to please a finicky public.  However that resilience has proven to expand to The Row as well as their other lines.  Quite impressive considering this is their very first fashion show.  While others are struggling to find the right balance between pleasing a public and their own creative license, The Row has managed to succeed in remaining true to the Olsens’ stylistic intentions while pleasing that finicky public.  And they are being taken seriously for their passion.  It is much deserved.

See Rest of Collection

February 18, 2010

Max Azria Fall 2010

The minimalist style will always be a big hit for me.  There is something very refreshing about simplicity (not to be confused with boring!) in a world that typically has things festooned with over-the-top flair.  I enjoy that aspect of fashion week; however, in those bells and whistles, we frequently lose sight of the clothes behind it.   The winter white outfit on Abbey Lee is striking in its natural state.  It requires no festivity or bedazzlement; understated grace is enough with a hint of badass is enough.  I love the play on shapes and detailing like that black dress below.  It’s eye-catching in the shape-play.  And I will always love how well-fitted and skintight (within reason!) clothes just hug a woman’s body.

Credit: WWD

February 18, 2010

Marc by Marc Jacobs Fall 2010

Can I start off by saying how much I love the dress Hyoni Kang is wearing?  I would add that to my closet in a heartbeat.  Maybe even less.  I adore the new ladylike Marc and what he has to offer to his other line as well.  It must be difficult keeping his own material fresh as well as the material for Louis Vuitton.  However, he has a very specific girl in mind with his Marc by Marc Jacobs line.  While his other line isn’t exactly for the mature, this specific collection is definitely geared to an even younger set.  It is affordable, stylish, and oh so spot on.  Marc Jacobs has switched it up and showing us a whole new side to him.

Credit: WWD

February 18, 2010

Rodarte Fall 2010

After giving us dark warrior chic in Spring, everyone is waiting to see what the Mulleavy sisters would dream up next.  They have completely moved away from their darker nature and has given up romantic glamour delivered in their signature style.  With the draping and knitwear, they have truly come into their own.  It is like attack of the Rodarte brides and I’m loving it.

Credit: WWD

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers